SiN Annual General Assembly

27 November 2021

Time: 09:00 - 17:00

Place: University of Bergen, Realfagbygget, Auditorium 5 (3rd floor)

Attendees: 27 (see Appendix)

Protocol

Opening of the meeting

Opened at 09:30

1. Elect chair of the AGM:

Proposed from board: Margret Veltman, approved by acclamation

2. Elect secretary of the AGM:

Proposed from board: Ingvild Mageli, approved by acclamation

3. Elect protocol signers (2):

Proposed from board: Grace Alinaitwe & Bikal Ghimire, approved by acclamation

4. Elect voting committee (2): two members of the AGM who are not running for positions Proposed: Camilla Holm Soelseth (SiN Board / PhD-forum, OsloMet) & Martin Brattmyr (DION, NTNU), approved by acclamation

Introduction to SiN

5. Ingvild Mageli presents the work of SiN and some key activities in the past year

Changes in the organisation

- 6. Margret Veltman presents the proposed changes to the statutes one by one,
 - § 4.3 Proposal by UiADoc final point: change "approve draft budget (...)"
 - 4 in favor
 - 11 against
 - 3 abstain

Not approved by AGM

- § 4.4 Proposal by UiADoc final line: change to "proficient in Norwegian"
 - 14 in favor
 - 3 against
 - 1 abstain

Approved by AGM

- § 5.4 Proposal by UiADoc addition after "(...) able to perform them": Should the resigning board member fail to provide this handover, the AGM may use its right to disapprove compensation for this board member
 - 11 in favor
 - 3 against
 - 4 abstain

Not approved by AGM

General proposal by UiODoc: use "**they**" (gender neutral pronouns) instead of binary gender specific pronouns

Approved by acclamation

All proposed changes including the added proposals **Approved** by acclamation

7. Presentation of aspirant member organisations

Application of NHH to become regular member, **approved by acclamation** The NHH delegates obtain immediate voting rights
Application of ØUC to become affiliate member, **approved by acclamation**

Invited talk

8. Remote teaching on doctoral level during a societal crisis
Professor Rune Krumsvik (UiB) presents work in progress
A discussion follows

Report of past and planned activities

9. Past board year 2020-2021

Margret Veltman presents the annual report 2020-2021, **approved by acclamation** Grace Alinaitwe presents the financial statement for 2020, **approved by acclamation**

10. Ongoing work

Grace Alinaitwe presents the incomes and expenses of 2021
The board proposes compensation according to governmental pay grade 57 (260 NOK/hour), with an estimated compensation of NOK 195 000 for the year 2021, approved by acclamation

11. Next board year 2022

Camilla Holm presents the plans for 2022

- 1. Yearly wheel
- 2. Position on internationalisation
- 3. Work on diversity (KIF committee)
- 4. Follow up survey on Covid-19
- 5. Events
- 6. Proposal by UiADoc: **Position on sustainability**
- 7. Proposal by UiADoc: Inclusion of postdocs
- 8. Proposal by DION: Position on academic freedom of speech

Margret Veltman presents the budget for 2022

The board proposes membership fees of NOK 2000 for regular and NOK 1000 for affiliate members, **approved by acclamation**

(Member organizations can apply for exemption from membership fee on the grounds of a low budget, in accordance with the statutes of SiN)

Elections

Overseen by the voting committee

12. Presentation of board positions:

Camilla Holm presents the board positions and nominations for the SiN board 2022

13. Election of the executive board:

1. Election of **President**

- o Candidates: Seshathiri Dhanasekaran (UiT), Nicolas Gibney (NHH)
- Result: Nicolas Gibney (NHH) elected by 17 votes

2. Election of Vice president

- Candidates: Olivia Kim (NHH), Seshathiri Dhanasekaran (UiT), Sanja Mrksic Kovacevic (UiS)
- o Result: Sanja Mrksic Kovacevic (UiS) elected by 17 votes

3. Election of **Treasurer**

- Candidates: Ruchika Shakya (NMBU), Olga Zlygosteva (UiO), Yauhen Yakimenka (UiB)
- o Result: Yauhen Yakimenka (UiB) elected by 9 votes

4. Election of **UHR representative**:

- Candidates: Chris Magnussen (UiB)
- o Result: Chris Magnussen (UiB) elected by 20 votes (unanimous)

5. Election of **Events officer**:

- Candidates: Ruchika Shakya (NMBU), Kathrin Garschall (UiB), Anna Piterskaya (UiO)
- o Result: Anna Piterskaya (UiO) elected by 11 votes

6. Election of **Communications officer**:

- Candidates: Johanne Kalsaas (UiB)
- o Result: Johanne Kalsaas (UiB) elected by 20 votes (unanimous)

7. Election of **Social media officer**:

- Candidates: Siamak Karimi (NTNU)
- Result: Siamak Karimi (NTNU) elected by 17 votes

8. Election of Webmaster:

- Candidates: Andrea Vallejo Vargas (NMBU)
- o Result: Andrea Vallejo Vargas (NMBU) elected by 16 votes

9. Election of EuroDoc liaison officer:

- Candidates: Friederike Schäfer (NTNU), Yashwant Singh Yadav (NMBU), Olga Zlygosteva (UiO)
- Result: Friederike Schäfer (NTNU) elected by 11 votes

Summary of the new board

President - Nicolas Gibney (NHH)

Vice president - Sanja Mrksic Kovacevic (UiS)

Treasurer - Yauhen Yakimenka by (UiB)

UHR representative - Chris Magnussen (UiB)

EuroDoc liaison officer - Friederike Schäfer (NTNU)

Events officer - Anna Piterskaya (UiO)

Communications officer - Johanne Kalsaas (UiB)

Social media officer - Siamak Karimi (NTNU)

Webmaster - Andrea Vallajo Vargas (NMBU)

14. Election of the advisory board:

Candidates: Camilla Holm, Margret Veltman and Bikal Ghimire

Approved by acclamation

Discussion

- 15. Internationalisation discussed for 45 minutes
 - Will be turned into a position statement by current board based on detailed notes of the discussion
- 16. Diversity and inclusion not brought up due to time limit
- 17. Representation of member organisations not brought up due to time limit
- 18. Other suggestions by the AGM
 Establish working groups for further discussion on these topics

Closing of the meeting

Closed at 19:15

We have read the above and hereby declare that the protocol is correct:

Bikal Ghimire Grace Alinaitwe

Appendix: Attendees

SiN board 2020-2021

Bikal Ghimire (NMBU) Grace Alinaitwe (NMBU) Camilla Holm Soelseth (OsloMet) Margret Veltman (UiO) Ingvild Mageli (UiT)

Delegates

Martin Brattmyr, DION (NTNU) Siamak Karimi, DION (NTNU) Nicolas Gibney, NHHDoc (NHH) Olivia Kim, NHHDoc (NHH) Margrethe Voll Storaas, NIHSPO (NIH) Elian Jentoft, PhD forum (OsloMet) Andrea Vallejo Vargas, SoDoC (NMBU) Ruchika Shakya, SoDoC (NMBU) Koen van Greevenbroek, TODOS (UiT) Seshathiri Dhanasekaran, TODOS (UiT) Henrik Siepelmeyer, UiADoc (UiA) Saishashank Balaji, UiADoc (UiA) Runa Falck, UiBDoc (UiB) Shayan Shokrgozar, UiBDoc (UiB) Christina Johannsen, UiODoc (UiO) Kristina Burum, UiODoc (UiO) Sanja Mrksic Kovacevic, UiSDC (UiS) Xiangyu Quan, UiSDC (UiS)

Observers

Immanuel Reim, UiBDoc (UiB) Paula Miramon, UiBDoc (UiB) Anna Piterskaya, UiODoc (UiO) Olga Zlygosteva, UiODoc (UiO)