

Minutes from SiN (Stipendiatorganisasjonene i Norge) annual meeting

Place and time: Domus Theologica, Oslo. 16:00-18:30, 28. May 2010.

Present: Ane Sandtrø (DIOV), Jon Kerr Nilsen (UiODoc), Yngve Sommervoll (DION), Sverre Lundemo (DION), Christer Gulbrandsen (UiODoc), Alessandro Rossini (UiB), Hanna Helgeland (FODOS), Ann-Kristin Molde (UiB), Ragnhild Hutchison.

The meeting, which took place after SiN's seminar "Norsk doktorgradsutdanning fram mot 2020", began with Ane bidding everybody welcome. First item on the agenda was approval of right to vote. As only DION, DIOV and FODOS have paid the membership fee for 2009, these organizations had the right to vote. Jon suggested that these could vote over if the other organizations should still have the right of vote at this annual meeting. It was a unanimous vote for UiODOC and UiA to have the right to vote as well for the rest of the meeting.

Sverre was appointed as secretary of minutes.

Ane and Jon volunteered to sign the minutes.

Annual report from SiN

The SiN board 2009/2010 has consisted of Ane Sandtrø (president), Sverre Lundemo (vice-president), Jon Kerr Nilsen (treasurer), Paul Okullo, Leonora Onarheim, Ola Edvin Vie (left the board 01/2010).

Ane and Sverre gave a short report on SiN's history, status and actions the previous year. The board has held one personal meeting during the previous board year. The most important tasks have been communication with existing and potentially new members, getting new web pages and arranging a national seminar on doctoral education. More information can be found in SiN's annual report for 2009.

Sverre and Ane attended the general annual meeting of Eurodoc in Vienna in March 2010 as national delegates. SiN has also participated in several seminars, and responded to hearings.

Annual reports from the local organizations

All participating organizations gave a brief summary of how the last year had been at their respective higher education institutions.

Sverre thereafter gave a short introduction to Eurodoc (the European Council of doctoral candidates and junior researchers). This is a Europe-wide interest organisation, in which SiN is a member together with organisations from 32 other countries. SiN each year appoints two delegates, which attend the general annual meeting of Eurodoc. The work of Eurodoc is

centred on its board, as well as 7 working groups (communication, funding, gender equality, mobility, survey, career development and regional cooperation). Participation through Eurodoc's main email list (consultation) and in the various WGs is open for all that are interested, regardless of whether they are members of the organisations affiliated with Eurodoc.

Points from the discussion

- The board has to work more actively to obtain funding for establishing/keeping a more continuous structure of SiN. For instance, having a travel fund to be used by the board for attending meetings. It would be desirable to have 1-2 personal board meetings per term. University administration and labor unions could be asked to provide some funding.
- Arrange seminars on topics more of direct interest for doctoral candidates, e.g. on the importance of transferable (generic) skills. E.g., what competencies/skills are desired from doctoral candidates by employers outside academia?
- Create a folder or leaflet on how to establish and maintain a doctoral interest organization. It is possible to get some inspiration by similar products from the student's associations.
- It is desirable to establish (or maintain) contact with all universities and larger university colleges. Some places SiN have contacts within the administration only, as there are no interest organizations active. We should use people's network to get more contacts, Ane may e.g. search for contacts in Bodø.

Election of new leader and board:

Sverre Lundemo was suggested as new leader of SiN, and subsequently elected by acclamation.

SiN's board for 2010/2011:

Sverre Lundemo President
Ann-Kristin Molde Vice-president
Jon Kerr Nilsen Treasurer
Hanna Helgeland Board member
Alessandro Rossini Board member
Christer Gulbrandsen Board member

The meeting was adjourned at 18:30

Sverre Lundemo/ Secretary of minutes